Andrea’s self-produced debut album Photograph was released in 2009. It reached number two in HMV Japan’s jazz chart, sitting alongside the new releases from Diana Krall and Melody Gardot, and was a Staff Pick on Its original track Yosemite was chosen as ‘Download Of The Day’ on, where it has been downloaded over 5,000 times to date.

A mixture of standards, bossa novas, reworked pop songs and one original number – all arranged and produced by Andrea – Photograph is a beautifully mellow, late-night album.

Buy Photograph on iTunes

Buy and listen to Photograph on Bandcamp

Buy Photograph on CD Baby

The players…

Andrea Mann: vocals
Martin Pickett: piano (except tracks 2 & 9)
Paul Jefferies: bass
Ben Twyford: drums
Nigel Price: guitar
Barry Green: piano (tracks 2 & 9)

The tracks…

  1. Every Night (Paul McCartney)
  2. Travelin’ Light (Jimmy Trundy/Trummy Young/Johnny Mercer)
  3. East Of The Sun (Brooks Bowman)
  4. Scotch And Soda (Dave Guard)
  5. Love, Look Away (Richard Rodgers/Oscar Hammerstein II)
  6. All I Do (Stevie Wonder/Clarence Paul/Morris Broadnax)
  7. Sparks (Guy Berryman/Jon Buckland/Will Champion/Chris Martin)
  8. Yosemite (Andrea Mann)
  9. All The Way / Come Rain Or Come Shine
    (James Van Heusen/Sammy Cahn; Harold Arlen/Johnny Mercer)
  10. Photograph (Antonio Carlos Jobim/Ray Gilbert)

The reviews…

The new jazz vocalist on the block’s debut set impresses – Andrea’s charming debut finds her relaxed and assured jazz vocals slide effortlessly above the smooth backing supplied by a crack team of London- and Oxford-based jazz musos. The choice of material certainly makes for an interesting menu, one which sees standards such as Rodgers & Hammerstein’s Love, Look Away sitting alongside cool interpretations of mainstream pop/rock gems, with Coldplay’s Sparks and Stevie Wonder’s All I Do being the prime examples. With its waterfall-like piano and exquisite nylon-strung acoustic guitar, Andrea’s self-penned Yosemite reflects her talent for delivering early hours reminiscences, too. Class.”
Musician magazine

Photograph is a ballad set, and Andrea Mann’s straightforward, sometimes-minimalist approach is backed by a crackerjack quartet that can play midnight jazz and sunny bossa nova. Mann handles American standards such as Scotch And SodaEast Of The Sun and Travelin’ Light with ease, but she chooses her repertoire carefully. Macca’s Every Night should have been done in a jazz context decades ago, and the vocalist also brings out new elements in Coldplay’s Sparks. These are mostly covers, but – as with her fine original, Yosemite – Andrea Mann swings through an old profession in new and beguiling ways.”
– Nick Dedina, Jazz editor, (‘Staff Pick’)

“A silky and romantic singing voice combined with an elegant, gorgeous ensemble of elite musicians… Andrea Mann represents the next generation of female vocalists… This is more than just a standard jazz vocal album.”
– Tower

“This is the fascinating debut from Andrea Mann, an outstanding talent with the kind of elegance and taste other singers lack… With this debut album, she instigates the second coming of singers such as Diana Krall and Julie London.  From the Great American Songbook to the pop numbers of Stevie Wonder, Paul McCartney and Coldplay, this goes beyond the norm to represent a new generation of jazz vocalists… Andrea has abundant talent. Her silky voice and sensitivity are brought out by the exquisite technique and production, and interwoven with tasteful performances from the most elegant of London’s musicians. This is classic jazz.”
– HMV Japan